Home | Registration | Call for Participation | For Accepted Authors | Program | Hotel and Travel



5:00-7:00pm: Registration
7:00-9:00pm: Welcome Reception


9:00-10:00am: AM1: Welcome and Keynote -- Chair: J. Hughes
10:00-10:30am: Break
10:30-12noon: AM2: Interaction Technologies -- Chair: M. Gleicher
10:30am: Hands-Free Multi-Scale Navigation in Virtual Environments
Joseph J. LaViola Jr., Daniel Acevedo Feliz, Daniel F. Keefe, Robert C. Zeleznik
11:00am: Interaction Techniques for 3D Modeling on Large Displays
Tovi Grossman, Ravin Balakrishnan, Gordon Kurtenbach, George Fitzmaurice, Azam Khan, Bill Buxton
11:30am: A Projective Drawing System
Osama Tolba, Julie Dorsey, Leonard McMillan
12noon-1:30pm: Lunch
1:30-3:30pm: PM1: Polygon Meshes -- Chair: J. Rossignac
1:30pm: Decomposing Polygon Meshes for Interactive Applications
Xuetao Li, Tong Wing Woon, Tiow Seng Tan, Zhiyong Huang
2:00pm: Semiautomatic Simplification
Gong Li, Benjamin Watson
2:30pm: Hierarchical Face Clustering on Polygonal Surfaces
Michael Garland, Andrew Willmott, Paul S. Heckbert
3:00pm: View-dependent Adaptive Tessellation of Spline Surfaces
Jatin Chhugani, Subodh Kumar
3:30-4:00pm: Break
4:00-5:10pm: PM2: Image-Based Modeling and Rendering -- Chair: W. Stürzlinger
4:00pm: Streaming QSplat: A Viewer for Networked Visualization of Large, Dense Models
Szymon Rusinkiewicz, Marc Levoy
4:30pm: Online Model Reconstruction for Interactive Virtual Environments
Benjamin Lok
4:50pm: The Vacuum Buffer
Voicu Popescu, Anselmo Lastra
7:00-9:30pm: Dinner with Speaker


8:30-10:10am: AM1: Creation of Artistic Artifacts -- Chair: M. Mine
8:30am: Functionally Based Virtual Computer Art
Alexei Sourin
9:00am: CavePainting: A Fully Immersive 3D Artistic Medium and Interactive Experience
Daniel F. Keefe, Daniel Acevedo Feliz, Tomer Moscovich, David H. Laidlaw, Joseph J. LaViola Jr.
9:30am: Escher Sphere Construction Kit
Jane Yen, Carlo Séquin
9:50am: User-Guided Composition Effects For Art-Based Rendering
Michael A. Kowalski, John F. Hughes, Cynthia Beth Rubin, Jun Ohya
10:10-10:40am: Break
10:40-12noon: AM2: Viewing Large Models -- Chair: T. Funkhouser
10:40am: Animating Prairies in Real-Time
Frank Perbet, Marie-Paule Cani
11:10am: HLODs for Faster Display of Large Static and Dynamic Environments
Carl Erikson, Dinesh Manocha, William V. Baxter III
11:40am: Occlusion Horizons for Driving through Urban Scenes
Laura Downs, Tomas Möller, Carlo H. Séquin
12noon-1:30pm: Lunch
1:30-3:20pm: PM1: Rendering Techniques -- Chair: (G. Bishop)
1:30pm: Variable-Precision Rendering
Xuejun Hao, Amitabh Varshney
2:00pm: Curved PN Triangles
Alex Vlachos, Jörg Peters, Chas Boyd, Jason L. Mitchell
2:30pm: Discontinuity Edge Overdraw
Pedro V. Sander, Hugues Hoppe, John Snyder, Steven J. Gortler
3:00pm: Non-Invasive, Interactive, Stylized Rendering
Alex Mohr, Michael Gleicher
3:20-3:50pm: Break
3:50-5:10pm: PM2: Shape Representation -- Chair: M. Cohen
3:50pm: Spatialized Normal Cone Hierarchies
David E. Johnson, Elaine Cohen
4:20pm: Shape by Example
Peter-Pike J. Sloan, Charles F. Rose, III, Michael F. Cohen
4:50pm: Fast and Simple Geometric Proximity Queries Using Graphics Hardware
Kenneth E. Hoff III, Andrew Zaferakis, Ming C. Lin, Dinesh Manocha
Evening: UNC Reception and Demos


8:30-10:00am: AM1: Panel: -- Chair: Joe Marks
Computational Construction Kits for Geometric Modeling and Design
10:00-10:30am: Break
10:30-12noon: AM2: Interactive Modeling -- Chair: R. Barzel
10:30am: Virtual Clay: A Real-time Sculpting System with Haptic Toolkits
Kevin T. McDonnell, Hong Qin, Robert A. Wlodarczyk
11:00am: A System for Interactive Molecular Dynamics
John E. Stone, Justin Gullingsrud, Klaus Schulten
11:30am: Motion Path Editing
Michael Gleicher
12noon-1:30pm: Lunch (Advisory Board meet over lunch)
1:30-3:20pm: PM1: Texture Creation -- Chair: C. Séquin
1:30pm: Parameterized Environment Maps
Ziyad Hakura, John M. Snyder, Jerome E. Lengyel
2:00pm: Adaptive Unwrapping for Interactive Texture Painting
Takeo Igarashi, Dennis Cosgrove
2:30pm: Synthesizing Natural Textures
Michael Ashikhmin
3:00pm: Real-Time Fur over Arbitrary Surfaces
Jerome E. Lengyel, Emil Praun, Adam Finkelstein, Hugues Hoppe
3:20-3:30pm: Closing -- Chair: J. Hughes


Last Updated: 01/19/2001